School of Charm

School of Charm

Lisa Ann Scott

Language: English

Pages: 304

ISBN: 006220758X

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


At the School of Charm, everyone has a wish to whisper. With an enchanting small-town setting, lively storytelling, and a hint of magic, this debut novel is perfect for fans of Ingrid Law, Clare Vanderpool, and Rebecca Stead.

Eleven-year-old Chip has always been her daddy's girl, so when he dies she pins her hopes on winning a beauty pageant to show her family of southern belles that she still belongs. But she'd rather be covered in mud than makeup! Can a rough-and-tumble girl ever become a beauty queen? A universal story about finding your place in the world, School of Charm explores themes of loss, family, and friendship.

Life in the Gumball Machine

The Snake Who Wanted To Be A Horse

Accidents May Happen: Fifty Inventions Discovered By Mistake

The Prank List (The Dirt Diary, Book 2)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

curvier than I remembered. Maybe it was the morning shadows tricking me. Her wind chimes were tinkling, but the air was thick and still. The woods seemed to hum. I ran toward her house, uncertain what I was feeling. Miss Vernie was sipping tea on her back porch when I poked my head around the corner. She was already wearing a white-and-pink-checkered dress, her makeup on, and her buttery blond hair pulled up in a bun. “Chip? You’re early. I don’t imagine the other girls will be getting here for

jaws all at the same places. Karen offered me some of her popcorn and we drained our big sodas. We stood up and cheered when Luke blew up the Death Star and we kept clapping after the movie ended. “That was great,” Karen said as we stayed in our seats, watching the credits roll. I didn’t want to leave. I closed my eyes and imagined myself flying through the stars at light speed. Then I frowned, remembering the night at the dinner table when I’d told Grandma what Miss Vernie had said about women

waiting for the courage to lift my head. When I did, Mama, Grandma, and Ruthie were watching Charlene. I cleared my throat. They all looked up at me. My lips curled into a smile just waiting for their praise. “You’re interrupting my final fitting,” Charlene whined. Grandma frowned. “Brenda, take that dress off before you get it a mass of wrinkles. You put it on after we get to the pageant hall at the school. Now get changed and get back down here so we can do your hair and makeup.” Mama

Karen said. “I had a long talk with my mom about how my stepdad upsets me so much, and she told me he just wants the best for me. That he wasn’t really picking on me so much as trying to motivate me to lose weight, to get off the couch and do something. So I guess you could say we had a real heart-to-heart talk. They’re both coming today.” She smiled so wide, her cheeks looked like they could burst. “That’s great.” I fingered my wrist and remembered Grandma made me take off the bracelet. “What

be looking for some consolation when she and your mama get home, and my peach pie usually does the trick.” Grandma headed up the stairs to her room. “Good night, Grandma,” I said. “Night, Grandma,” Ruthie called. Then she turned to me. “I thought the winner really was the prettiest. But don’t tell Charlene.” “Don’t worry. I’m not going to say anything about the Miss America pageant unless she does.” “I, like, can’t believe I was ever in a pageant,” Ruthie said, twirling a ringlet of hair

Download sample

Download

Comments are closed.